Member of Excellence 2019 Nomination Deadline

TOPEKA, Kan. (Nov. 21, 2019) – The nomination deadline for the Sports Car Club of America® Member of Excellence award is Monday, Dec. 2, 2019. The honor is presented to the winner at the 2020 SCCA National Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada, during the SCCA Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet. Aside from the recognition, the recipient is given the opportunity to attend any motorsport event of their choosing, with an expense cap of $5000, anywhere on the planet.


The award, selected by the SCCA Board of Directors, is given to a member who provided a great contribution to the Club during the previous 12 months, regardless of competition area. Nominations should be submitted to Below are the official criteria.


“The award is presented to the volunteer who shows the greatest commitment to SCCA Motor Sports activities. The recipient can be involved in Solo, Rally and/or Club Racing. This person should personify the SCCA volunteer who gives of his/her time and effort to helping organize, work in a specialty or any volunteer role necessary to a motor sports event.”


To be selected, the member must have rendered long-term service working SCCA events or activities for a five-year minimum.  The recipient cannot be a paid SCCA staff member, current Board of Directors member or any member who is a paid consultant to SCCA.


The winner of this year’s award will join Lori Vitagliano (2018), Ron and Monica Shaw (2017), Sydney Davis-Yagel (2016), Paula Hawthorne (2015), J.D. King (2014), Jerry Cabe (2013), Mary Shiloff (2012), Arnie Coleman (2011), Marina Kraft (2010), Dave Deborde (2009) and Carol Cohn (2008) as previous recipients.


Again, nominations should be submitted to and must be received by close of business Dec. 2, 2019, for consideration.